From the trio of desserts I used for Valentine’s day, creme brulee can be found here, the batter for the banana fritters here and the mousse follows…

DSC00831-001

I should add, this was extremely luscious! I used Mary Berry’s recipe, the original can be found here. As I was only cooking for two – and this was as part of a dessert selection – I only used a 3rd of the ingredients. (I’ve put the measurements I used in brackets).

Ingredients:

  • a knob of butter (a very small knob)
  • 225 g of plain chocolate, broken up  (75 g)
  • 1 tbsp brandy, optional (1 tsp)
  • 3 large eggs, separated (1)
  • 150ml double cream, lightly whipped (50 ml)
  • Icing sugar, optional – but advised – its a pretty tart recipe!

Method:

  1. Place the butter and chocolate in a bowl over a pan of gently simmering water.
  2. As soon as it has melted, remove it from the heat and stir in the brandy and then egg yolks, one at a time.
  3. Whip the egg whites until stiff. Fold into the chocolate mixture with the whipped cream.
  4. Spoon into glasses or ramekins. Then transfer to the fridge to set.
  5. To serve, dust with icing sugar.

For the banana fritters:

  1. Make the batter from Tomato Soup.
  2. Heat about 3-5 cm of oil (1-2 inches) until it bubbles when a little bread of batter dropped into fizzles nicely.
  3. Dredge thirds or quarters of a banana through flour, then the batter, and then fry until crisp.

I dusted the bananas with a little icing sugar and powdered cinnamon. Honey, golden syrup, maple syrup or indeed custard I am sure would have been just as nice!

